Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, has sworn in nine commissioners who had previously resigned amidst political tension in the state.

The ceremony was held at the state Executive Council Chambers of the Government House in Port Harcourt on Friday.

Eight of the re-appointed commissioners were part of the cabinet led by Nyesom Wike, the current Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, and had stepped down during a period of political tension in the latter half of last year. The ninth commissioner, Gift Worlu, was not part of the previous administration but hails from the same local government area as Wike.

Congratulating the re-sworn in commissioners, Governor Fubara urged them to do what is right for the state.

“I don’t think I have any charge for you. You have already read your charge to uphold the Constitution of the fed republic of Nigeria. I urge you to do the right thing.

“I can see how heavy your hearts are. I don’t blame you. You were caught between the crossfire,” Fubara said.

To Advertise or Publish a Story on NaijaLiveTv:

Kindly contact us @

Call or Whatsapp: 07035262029, 07016666694, 08129340000