A lawamaker representing Osun State Senatorial District, Sen. Ademola Adeleke Saturday emerged the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic (PDP).

With his emergence, Adeleke will face the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola in the state’s governorship election scheduled to hold on September 22.

In a keenly contested primary election, the senator defeated his main challenger, Mr. Akin Ogunbiyi to emerge the party’s flagbearer.

Bayelsa State Governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State, who is the Chairman of the election pane, said Adeleke scored 1,569 votes.


Dickson said Adeleke’s closest rival and the Chief Executive Officer of Mutual Benefit Assurance, Mr. Akin Ogunbiyi scored 1,562 votes.
He added that former Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Fatai Akinbade scored 56 votes while a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Mr. Nathaniel Oke scored 3 votes.

Dickson said the expected delegates were 3,448 while accredited delegates who participated in the election were 3,246.
He said 56 votes were voided, adding that any aspirant who is not satisfied with the result can appeal to the National Working Committee of the party.

Dickson , who described the primary as a family contest, urged the other three contestants to support Adeleke for the party to win the election.

He added that there “is no loser in the election. This exercise is a brotherly contest. A contest of brothers of the same family.
“This exercise is a beginning of a long journey and we must join hands together to win the election”.
Alhaji Babangida Aliyu, a former governor of Niger supervised the counting of the votes.

Adeleke, the winner of the primary, will represent the party in the governorship election scheduled for September 22.
Oyetola, Chief of Staff to Osun State Govern, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, governor of Osun, had on Friday emerged the winner of the primary election of the APC.

Seven aspirants announced their withdrawal from the race. before the commencement of the primary .
Those who announced their withdrawal from the primary are Mr Adejare Bello, former speaker of the State House of Assembly, Prof. Adeolu Durotoye, Jide Adeniji, Sen. Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Mr Ayoade Adewopo, Mr Lere Oyewumi and Mr Felix Ogunwale.
The aspirants said that they stepped down from the race due to the appeal from the party’s leadership and also to ensure cohesion within the party.

Adeleke , who won the Senatorial election on July 9, 2017 , after the demise of his brother Isiaka Adeleke , will contend with Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, who emerged as the state governorship candidate on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC) and Senator Iyiola Omisore, a former PDP stalwart, who is now the candidate of the Social Democratic Party, SDP.
Late Isiaka Adeleke, was representing Osun West Senatorial Distrist at the Senate before his death on April 23, 2017.
Oyetola scored 127,017 votes to clinch the APC ticket.

To Advertise or Publish a Story on NaijaLiveTv:

Kindly contact us @

Call or Whatsapp: 07035262029, 07016666694, 08129340000