The Chief of Staff to Olagunsoye Oyinlola, former governor of Osun State, Festus Adeyemo, and two commissioners that served in the state cabinet during the tenure of ex-governor, Rauf Aregbesola, alongside 22 others were on Friday unveiled as commissioner-nominees by the State House of Assembly.

The Speaker, Adewale Egbedun, read the names as contained in the letter sent to the lawmakers by Governor Ademola Adeleke at the plenary.

The two members of Aregbesola’s cabinet that made the list are Kolapo Alimi, who served as commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs and Mr. Biyi Odunlade, who was Special Adviser and later commissioner for Sports.

Adeyemo, who is from Irewole Local Government Area, served as Chief of Staff to Oyinlola at the twilight of his administration, when the man that occupied the post from 2003, Dr Peter Babalola, left the cabinet in pursuit of governorship ambition.

Also listed is the widow of late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, the elder brother of the incumbent governor, Mrs Folashade Adeleke.


Among other nominees are Rev. Bunmi Jenyo, who had hitherto served as Personal Assistant to the governor, former chairman of Atakumosa West local government, Oladosu Babatunde; Bayo Ogungbangbe, Sesan Oyedele, Soji Ajeigbe, Moshood Olagunju, George Alabi, Sunday Oroniyi, Abiodun Ojo, Dr. Basiru Salami, Morufu Ayofe and Sola Ogungbile.

A statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker, Olamide Tiamiyu, further read, “The House of Assembly has also set up an Ad-Hoc Committee to conduct preliminary screening of the nominees before they will appear before the House for full screening and confirmation. The process will be completed in good time.”

To Advertise or Publish a Story on NaijaLiveTv:
Kindly contact us @
Call or Whatsapp: 07035262029, 07016666694, 08129340000