The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primaries in Taraba State have been concluded, with Kefas Agbu emerging as the party’s flag bearer.

The candidate is the incumbent chairman of the PDP in Taraba.

Agbu is said to be the anointed candidate of former Chief of Army Staff, Theophilus Danjuma

Agbu, as noticed by NAIJA LIVE TV, contested the election with four other aspirants.

While one of the aspirants, Victor Bala Kona, earlier announced his intention to boycott the exercise, agents of two of the aspirants were as well observed to have shunned the election.


Agbu, who joined the race at the eleventh hour after the sales of nomination forms had been closed and screening of aspirants concluded, was observed to have polled 443 votes to defeat his closest rival, who scored 31.

Announcing the results, the chairman of the Electoral Committee, Kabir Bappa Jauro, said the number of the total vote was 522.

He described the primary as “free, fair, credible and transparent.”

In his acceptance speech, Agbu said, “Taraba people are committed to voting a candidate that will continue the good work the incumbent governor is doing.”

He called on his supporters and people of the state to desist from using provocative words against aspirants who did not make it, stating that “we all need each other to triumph at the general polls in 2023.”

To Advertise or Publish a Story on NaijaLiveTv:
Kindly contact us @
Call or Whatsapp: 07035262029, 07016666694, 08129340000